AcWriMo Recap

Now that November has  come and gone, I look back at what I accomplished during my first participation to AcWriMo. After a failed attempt at NaNoWriMo a few years ago, I wasn’t so sure that I was going to do that well, but I was surprised in a very good way. My final word count for AcWriMo is the following:

  • 25,482 (2 book chapters and 1 paper)
  • 9,805 (17 blog posts)
  • TOTAL: 35,287

I feel very accomplished with all of this, but I know that having had specific projects to work on helped me a lot. I hope I can take part next year, because it was a very enriching experience, either when it comes to “pure” writing, or about the feeling of community. I was glad to get to know fellow academics during this month and even take part to one AcWriMo Twitter chat at some point. I hope to be able to be part of the AcWri community on Twitter as well in the rest of the year, when it’s not AcWriMo.

Right now I am working on a fourth chapter of my book Women in Science Fiction Television. So far, I am struggling with the introduction, but I have all the detailed structure so that does help. Goal is to finish that chapter by the end of December (if possible before Christmas, since this is a shorter one in comparison to the previous ones I wrote).

I am also still catching up with TV. Plan is to (finally) watch Falling Skies and Game of Thrones third seasons during the Christmas break.Besides those, I also plan on watching the remaining episodes of Lost Girl, Marvel’s Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D., The Tomorrow People, Beauty and the Beast, before all of those get the mid season break.

This week, I watched an oldie I had never seen before. I watched all of the only season of Birds of Prey (2002-2003) because I had wanted to see it when it came out. I was also curious to see Rachel Skarsten younger, since I adore her as Tamsin in Lost Girl. I really enjoyed the show and the characters. I wish it had lasted longer to be honest. I liked the three main characters, but my favorite is Oracle. I just think she was such an interesting character! It’s the first time I watch a TV show or movie based on comics, and in which I see a character who actually makes me eager to read the comics they were featured in!

The two only things that I wasn’t big on in Birds of Prey were the flashback when Oracle was shown as Batgirl. I can’t help it, any bat related costume just makes me laugh like silly. And the other one was how I found Dr. Harleen Quinzel/Harley Quinn an extremely caricature-like and boring character. I thought it was a bit of a shame, because the trio of protagonists could have benefited from a more interesting enemy. Once again, I am not familiar with the character in the comics, but she just bored me.

Last year when I traveled to Texas, I watched the pilot of Once Upon a Time, at the friend’s I was staying with. I had enjoyed what I had seen, despite not having been blown away in comparison to other shows I fell in love at first sight in a more significant fashion. Since I am running a little out of shows to watch, I decided to pick this one again. I am currently (re) watching the second episode of the first season, as I had forgotten I had actually seen it along with the pilot. I am curious to see how it continues to unfold.

2 thoughts on “AcWriMo Recap

Leave a Reply

