AcWriMo, Books and TV Shows

AcWriMo is going really well for me, and I am glad that I heard and joined this for November this year. I already wrote 4423 words since the month begun. I realized that I didn’t post anything about my goal on the blog, so it is time to fix that. So, my AcWriMo goal is to finish the book chapter I started working on in the last couple of days of October, which means that my goal was about of 8000 words. I decided to go for a small goal to be able to achieve it, and possibly do better than it, which will likely be the case. My overall goal regarding my book is to get three chapters done by the end of 2013, so I have four left to do next year, along with main introduction and conclusion. So far, it is going according to plan, especially as I’m set on starting a third chapter before November ends.

I hesitated about deciding to include a number of blog posts in that AcWriMo goal, but I decided against it for I know too well that my blog writing depends a lot of my writing and what I watch, read and vid. I am still planning on the blog series about female characters I considers as role models when growing up, but I am beginning to think I might push it back to December, due to lack of vids available for all characters. After all, I am not going to complain that my writing takes over my vidding time, especially when the result is quite good.

After an eventful Sunday I finally finished to read a book for the first time since last summer. I had had The Approaching Storm by Alan Dean Foster on my book shelf almost since it had come out years ago. Overall, I found it an enjoyable reading, but I wouldn’t put it amongst my favorite Star Wars EU novels either. All the passages with Obi Wan Kenobi, Anakin Skywalker, Luminara Unduli and Bariss Offee were great, but the rest didn’t interest me so much, thus I found that there were a few lengths in the book.

I also kept catching up with TV as yesterday I watched the first season of The Fall, starring Gillian Anderson and Jamie Dornan. To be fair, I was really not in the mood to watch a thriller, but I couldn’t resist checking it out because I tend to do that with most – if not everything – Anderson stars in, for she has been my favorite actress since I saw her in the X-Files. I thought that it was brilliantly executed and both Anderson’s and Dornan’s performances are award worthy in my view. I will definitely watch the second season when it comes out next year. For those unfamiliar with it, I am posting the trailer below:

Tonight, I also gave a try to the pilot of the new Dracula series starring Jonathan Rhys-Meyer. I enjoy vampire stories but it really depends on the book or screen productions. When it comes to Dracula’s story, what I have loved best has always been the book. Given that besides the main actor, some of the crew members also worked on The Tudors, a show I enjoyed a great deal, I was really curious about it. I think that the photography work is stunning, and Rhys-Meyer is as remarkable as he was in The Tudors. Yet, I am not overly impressed with it. I am going to watch the rest of the season, because there are good things and I am curious to see how it unfolds, but I would be lying if I said I was very excited about this new Dracula, although I think that from all the screen adaptations I have seen, this is my favorite so far.

Leave a Reply

