A Vidder’s Ramblings: Who We Are

Made in 2012, Who We Are was my first, and so far only, video for Blade Runner. I created it for my seventh vidding anniversary, as I always enjoy making a vid specifically for them. This year, it was the Babylon 5 video, Lost without You. I find it interesting that it can take me so much time to get to vid movies or television shows I particularly love. Blade Runner is one good example. That movie has been one of the greatest inspirations for me to choose film studies after high school, along with Star Wars. One of my first works about film studies, in my last year of high school, was about the original Star Wars trilogy and Blade Runner. It is hard to think it was more than a decade ago now. While I am a huge Ridley Scott fan, Blade Runner is still one of my favorite movies of his, along with the lengthy list that includes Gladiator, Robin Hood, Thelma & Louise, Alien and Prometheus.

I discovered the song by Ryan Star through a friend and the lyrics just spoke to me about Blade Runner. I had always felt that when I started vidding this movie, it would be an ensemble piece. The more I’ve watched it throughout the years, the more I have been drawn to most of the characters, beyond just Deckard, Rachael or even Roy Batty. They all have something special in the “grand scheme of things”. I am well aware that much has been written about this movie, and I have certainly read a lot. Yet, I still hope I can get back into my old work and maybe take a better spin on this research and write something as well, one of those days. Overall, I am still interested in writing about Ridley Scott’s work (even possibly his brother Tony Scott’s as well) when the timing and ideas are right.

I first saw the European theatrical version when I grew up, before seeing the Director’s cut in the nineties or the alternate ones in the DVD box set in the past few years. While I used the “ultimate” cut in this video, I still have a soft spot for the theatrical one. Many criticized the voice over in that version, but I happen to enjoy them. They don’t burden the narrative in my view and I like the “haunting” dimension they can possess at times, especially the one when Roy Batty dies. I always have it in the back of my mind even when watching another version.

While it isn’t always the case, I also find it great to be able to make ensemble videos for my vidding anniversaries. I can’t really explain why, but it is what I prefer doing for such occasions. Maybe this is due to the fact that I tend to reflect on what I vidded before, on the family, friends and viewers who have been enjoying what I’ve done. This one and the Babylon 5 that I made this year are very much in the same topic of holding on in darker times, in hope for a better tomorrow, and give one’s everything to keep the bonds we have.

Leave a Reply

