A Vidder’s Ramblings: Not Everything Is Lost

Made in 2010, Not Everything Is Lost was my first Dragon Age video – so far I have made two and I also used clips from that franchise in a video game crossover video. While I never was an avid gamer, I have been known to enjoy some selected titles over the years. Yet, I had taken a break from such things since KOTOR I and II. It was Dragon Age: Origins that drew me back into gaming. I fell in love with not only the first game, but the franchise as a whole. I loved the universe and the stories. I went through quite a few plays of the different games, and it’s one I can go back to at times, besides being very much waiting for the next one.

Dragon Age was also the first video game that made me decide to take the step to actually write about gaming, as shown by my talk “Dragon Age: offered and created womanhood” at the 4th Global Conference: Videogame Cultures and the Future of Interactive Entertainment in July 2012 in Oxford. Since then I have written about more games, and know that I will continue to do so in the future.

Before even remotely thinking about incorporating Dragon Age in my scholar projects, I needed to vid the games. Although I still wish that it wasn’t just a male protagonist shown in the promotional material, I managed to make a decent ensemble video, based on trailers and videos from Dragon Age: Origins and Dragon Age II, including my favorite female NPC Morrigan and Leliana.

The song, ‘Walk the Earth’ by the metal band Silent Force had been on my ‘to vid’ list for a couple of years already, if not more. The original song is about six minutes, but I was lucky it had a good cutting point for the much shorter video. The lyrics just worked well for Dragon Age and all the characters’ journeys and it had that ‘epic’ sound that always heightens my creativity when having some cozy time with my video editing software.

On a side note, I find it amusing that rewatching that video to write this post also reminded me of another fandom that this song would be perfect for. I actually completed a Lethal Weapon vid on this song tonight. The muses never need sleep!

Leave a Reply

